Dhammapada, Stanza 3

Version 1:

“He reviled me!  He struck me!
He defeated me!  He robbed me!”
They who gird themselves up with this,
For them enmity is not quelled.

Version 2:

“He insulted me,
hit me,
beat me,
robbed me”
— for those who brood on this,
hostility isn’t stilled.

Version 3:

“He abused me, he struck me, he overpowered me, he robbed me.”  Those who harbor such thoughts do not still their hatred.

(Note: Version 1 is from the John Ross Carter and Mahinda Palihawadana translation. Version 2 is from the Thanissaro Bhikkhu translation. Version 3 is from the Acharya Buddharakkhita translation.)

2 thoughts on “Dhammapada, Stanza 3”

  1. I vote for version 1 (thus falling into the trap).

    There’s something very powerful about the verb “Gird” to describe how we actually use such thoughts to create walls around ourselves.

  2. Hello! Yes, the verb ‘gird’ does seem quite relevant here from an experiential point of view. From my own experience – when I hear someone talk about me in a negative way, if I hold to “how could they say that about me?” then I build up a sense of self to hide behind, consequently the same sense of self that is being threatened by the other’s words. There is a definite sense of building, or shoring up in these moments!

    Hope you are well!

Leave a Reply

